8/14/2013 – Revised Firearm Reciprocating Laws

Kansas and West Virginia added by Attorney General Olens to List of States Entitled to Georgia’s Firearm Permit Reciprocit

Attorney General Samuel Olens has announced two additions to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation initially passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of state which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of Kansas and the State of West Virginia have determined that they will honor Georgia firearms permits. Therefore, effective immediately, Georgia recognizes firearms permits issued by Kansas and West Virginia.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocated in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program.

Please Tell Us What You Think
You Don’t Have to Give Your Email

© 2013 Any and all badges, patches & photos depicting the Meriwether County Sheriff’s Office are proprietary and without prior written permission of the Meriwether County Sheriff’s Office may not be used. Use of these images without written permission constitutes a violation of Georgia Code Section 15-16-51 and will subject you to prosecution. Contact us in advance of using any of these images.