Revised Firearm Reciprocating Laws

Kansas and West Virginia added by Attorney General Olens to List of States Entitled to Georgia’s Firearm Permit Reciprocity

Attorney General Samuel Olens has announced two additions to Georgia’s program of reciprocal recognition to firearms permit holders from other states. Legislation initially passed in 1996 allowed Georgia to grant this privilege to citizens of state which recognized Georgia firearms permits.

The State of Kansas and the State of West Virginia have determined that they will honor Georgia firearms permits. Therefore, effective immediately, Georgia recognizes firearms permits issued by Kansas and West Virginia.

With this revision, Georgia now reciprocated in recognizing firearms licenses with the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

As always, Georgia firearms permit holders should familiarize themselves with the individual requirements and limitations on firearms permits in any of the reciprocating states where they wish to exercise their rights under this reciprocity program